Mount Pleasant OWI/OWID Lawyers

Strong Defense Against Alcohol-Related Charges

Prosecutors in Michigan take drunk driving cases very seriously. If you have been charged with Operating While Intoxicated (OWI) or Operating While Visibly Impaired (OWVI), you need immediate legal assistance. At O'Neil & Lynch, P.C., our experienced lawyers defend people who have been charged with drunk driving offenses. To schedule a free initial consultation to discuss your situation at 989-546-4486, toll free at 888-339-4768

St. Johns - Harrison - Big Rapids - Midland

Drunk Driving Lawyers Providing Aggressive, Knowledgeable Representation

From our offices in Mount Pleasant, OWI/OWID attorneys Daniel R. O'Neil and Jeffrey D. Lynch have fought for clients throughout the central Michigan region. We can explain the charges against you, including what the prosecution must prove and the potential penalties you are facing. Throughout your case, we will work closely with you to ensure that you understand what to expect. When you have questions, we will be there for you to provide answers. We can help take the fear and uncertainty out of the criminal process.

A defendant should never enter into the criminal court system without the assistance of an experienced attorney. The pitfalls are just too dangerous, and if a mistake is made, it is frequently too late for an attorney to fix it after the fact. The charge of drunk driving is definitely no exception. The penalties for drunk driving include:

  • Points on your driving record
  • Fines and costs of up to $2,000
  • Substance abuse treatment
  • Probation
  • Loss of driver's license
  • Loss of commercial driver's license
  • Loss of right to carry a weapon
  • Community service
  • Vehicle immobilization
  • Driver's license renewal fee of $500 to $1,000
  • Jail: 93 days to a year, depending on the number of prior offenses. Possible prison for second offense

A Serious Crime

If convicted, your license will be suspended. You will spend time in jail and face potential fines. Under Michigan's new "super drunk" law, if you had a bodily alcohol content (BAC) of .17 or higher, you will face harsh consequences, including mandatory alcohol rehabilitation, the installation of a breath alcohol ignition interlock device, and sanctions against your driver's license. Whether this is your first offense, or you are charged as a repeat offender, you need to take your defense seriously.

Michigan's "Super Drunk" Driving Law

Michigan's Drunk Driving law changed again on October 31, 2010. The changes are commonly called the "Super Drunk" driving law. The new law will apply for defendants convicted with a blood alcohol content of .17 or greater. The penalties have substantially increased under the new law, including:

  • Increased jail and fines, and probation
  • Increased suspended driver's license for first offense
  • Mandatory one year substance abuse treatment
  • Mandatory inter-lock system on your vehicle

The Evidence Against You

We have significant experience with evidentiary matters in drunk driving cases. From challenging DataMaster Breathalyzer results and field sobriety tests to the procedures used to collect and test blood or urine, we will explore every avenue to protect your rights and get you the result you deserve. We also represent clients in implied consent license hearings and work with clients to protect their driving privileges.

Schedule your free initial consultation concerning your drunk driving case by calling 989-546-4486, toll free at 888-339-4768.